Frosted Leaves

Through the woodland.
He left a trail.
Beneath the branches.
Secret filled and dark.
So that I could follow
And find him again.
Tiny white fungus
Sprang up at his feet.
Path lights in the dark.
While burnt orange
Leaves fell to make
A soft carpet for me.
I chased him hard.
And fast as I could.
But every footstep
Left behind ice.
Glittering jewels.
Killing the lights.
Freezing solid the floor.
Till no longer could
I see the trail he left me.
So, I sit waiting.
In my palace of biting
Cold and sadness.
Waiting for his colour
Of fire
To return.

Leave a Reply

