Treacherous Ground

My foot scuffed soil.
And balance left me.
Low and muddied.
Lying still.
My eyes floated.
Gazing upward.
And a redness swam,
In to my cheeks,
When I saw a tree,
Heavy with crows,
Laughing down at me.
So mortified
Was I.
At their mocking
Beady stare.
I could not move,
Would not stir.
Just staying, waiting
For the ground to swallow.
So let me warn.
That till this very day.
I lie on the forest floor.
Hoping that you will
Pass this way and,
Trip.
And keep me company.

Leave a Reply

