The Eyes Have It

I can’t see his eyes.

Beneath the hat.
The dark brim shadow
Casts a black mask,
Above the hawk nose,
And thin crooked smile.

I can’t wrench my gaze
From those hollow
Triangle pits below
The battered grey hat.
Above the twitching lips.

I still can’t see his eyes

And I don’t know how
Lucky I am.

One thought on “The Eyes Have It

  1. My adoration of the use of metaphor here to vividly illustrate the features of the man, contrasts chillingly with the realisation that the writer has come face to face with The Grim Reaper, and is unaware of their lucky escape! :s

Leave a Reply

