Back at the Beginning – 2

The handwriting is tight
Looped and hurried
The words peek through
The faded smudged paper
Can’t tell where the
Wrinkles in the note
Stop and where they start
In my hands, seems
We aged together
But my tired eyes can
Still see the one line
Staring back at me
Never forget who I am

I found the note on
This long road
But it means nothing
To me
I cannot
Remember.

One thought on “Back at the Beginning – 2

  1. Oh dear! How despairing it can feel to lose one’s direction and very sense of raison d’etre, but encouraging that the writer’s recognition of themselves has remained throughout the aging years…

Leave a Reply

