The Body Battles

My brain asks for quiet
While my heart demands tears
Both are opposed by my feet
Who want nothing but to flee
It seems that my hands
Cannot leave each other alone
Constantly touching and twisting
As my disobedient eyes
See anything that they want
Flanked by my ears who have
Shut down, and want to hear
no more.
My brain needs silence
It seems no one is listening
And I will have no truce

One thought on “The Body Battles

  1. A wonderfully painted canvas of the inner turmoil evoked by the emotions of anxiety and insecurity…

    I particularly enjoyed the description of the diversity of actions of brain, heart, hands, feet, eyes and ears, which have become separated from their collaborative understanding, compounding the anxiety that there will be no solace…

Leave a Reply

