Soul Match

I found a sort of peace
At least the quietest
My mind has ever been
Walking in the moors
Until I was the only
Living thing to be seen
My skin began to harden
Along with my heart
As those lonely hills
Became my home
And the river my only lady
She carried me onward still
Away from all my sins
The fires I had caused
To this barren place
Where my soul
Found its match

One thought on “Soul Match

  1. I adore the sense of the long, desolate journey, guided only by Nature and her elements. There is a suggestion of a cleansing of the soul and abrogation of responsibility for past actions, quenched by the river, and the empowerment of the writer with inestimable guardianship through the future…

    🙂

Leave a Reply

